Arctic Wolves and Black Bears

I was very jealous when my parents said they had seen a wolf run across the road when they were in Canada. Unfortunately, I have not had such a real life experience, instead I got my fix of the Canadian wild side at Omega Park. This Safari Park is about an hour outside of Ottawa and is well worth the visit if you’re nearby. Driving round you are often surrounded by deer that greatly appreciate any carrots that you may have. At times it felt like a scene straight out of Bambi, with adorable baby deer tentatively walking around the bus and the huge stag with his truly magnificent antlers, looking on from the distance. We saw Reindeer (or Caribou as they also call them here) but they weren’t interested in coming up to the road for carrots, strange considering they always seemed to appreciate when I left them some out at Christmas.. I loved the Moose, I had never seen one before and thought they looked great. The guide told us of an adorable story of how one was raised with a family goat and now they never leave each others side – and when we saw this moose, the guide was right, the goat never strayed from a few metres away. We passed a lake with a beaver dam and you could see the house they had made themselves further in the lake but unfortunately we did not see any beavers. There was a point where you could get out and walk around with some deer and feed them. Red and I were getting very disappointed at how they seemed to refuse our carrots but luckily before we felt too hurt they gave in and had a nibble. Although I’m sure I would get a bit hacked off if there were people constantly following me around, waving carrots in my face, so I don’t blame them. Arctic foxes were very cuddly, as were the Arctic Wolves who all went crazy as the guide threw them some bread. The Black Bears were incredible. They looked so cosy in their thick layer of fur, and super cuddly – I completely understand the phrase bear hug now! They were especially magnificent when we saw one stand up to its full height to catch food. This also gave us an opportunity to see all their teeth which reminded me that perhaps they aren’t so cuddly!

The majority of my time lately is spent writing essays so I loved having the opportunity to get out of my little room and see what Canada’s natural side had to offer – which evidently is a lot.

2 responses to “Arctic Wolves and Black Bears

  1. Pingback: Why Study at UOttawa? | It's a Free Land·

  2. Pingback: Tips and Tricks: Studying at UOttawa | It's a Free Land·

Leave a Reply

