Coach Raves and Spaghetti Legs

Every Sunday from the beginning of the season, the UOttawa ski group put on trips to Mont Tremblant, the biggest ski resort this side of Canada. Making the most of my time here, I made sure I went on all of the trips this year and I had such a brilliant time. The coach rides were an experience in themselves. The group regulars pitched up for the journey at 7am, still drunk from the night before and maintained this stupor after purchasing more alcohol en route. Yet this was nothing in comparison to the journey home. Everyone was completely sloshed after a hard-core afternoon of après-ski and continued their revels on the bus. The grimiest dubstep was played at maximum volume while they proceeded to party at the back of the coach. They would get as many people to stand and dance in the aisles, drank the bottle of vodka previously taken from some bar, and even crowd surfed. I admired their energy after a day skiing, I for one was completely knocked out each week, immediately falling into bed as soon as I got home.

I have only been on two school, ski trips so I was a bit nervous to ski without an instructor. Luckily Tremblant was perfect for me. There were lots of different, green runs (which correlates to Red in Europe) which was great as I felt comfortable going down without knowing there was someone to pick me up. Due to it being very early in the season there was only a limited number of runs open each day but I think that I managed to tackle them all in the consecutive weeks. I have skied fallen down a few black runs in Austria but I didn’t feel confident enough to challenge myself here, without anyone to save me as I hurtled down the mountain! I found it icier to ski here rather than in Europe which I found tough at times. I also hadn’t experienced snow machines before – they truly are lethal. With some chair lifts going straight through their direction of fire, you find yourself in a brief blizzard where the snow seriously cuts into your face, it was vicious. I definitely feel older from when I last skied; at the end of each day here my legs felt like spaghetti and my knees I thought had snapped in half – all worth it though! Older and chubbier actually. I last borrowed my friend’s salopettes in February 2012 and they were fine. December 2013, the poppers were far from closing! I should probably cut down on the poutine!

Tremblant village was adorable. I loved its Alp style with all the multi-coloured roofs – it was all very quaint. However I think it would have been even better to have been what I would say as stereotypically Canadian; I’m imagining lots of log cabins, antlers on the walls, huge roaring fires.. you get the idea. With lots of shops and restaurants, there is plenty to entertain you at the end of the day. On my last trip I finally got to try Tourtière, which is a traditional meat pie from Quebec. I found it a bit dry but the taste was delicious. It was so warm and hearty – perfect after a shattering day on the slopes. Lauren also treated me to Maple Taffy which is quite simply maple syrup on snow, how more Canadian can you get? Maple syrup is poured in a line onto snow, and after waiting about a minute for it to begin to solidify, you roll it up into a delicious, and very sickly lolly. The village was particularly lovely as it was decorated in preparation for Christmas. Being surrounded by snow with all of the pretty lights turning on I felt so festive. It was a shame that I couldn’t have come for a week or so but I am so pleased that I managed to visit as much as possible, I would have had a great time there even without the skiing!

One response to “Coach Raves and Spaghetti Legs

  1. Pingback: Why Study at UOttawa? | It's a Free Land·

Leave a Reply

