Burgers at The Abbot Cook

A short walk away from my house is The Abbot Cook, a brilliant pub at Cemetery Junction in Reading. It’s welcoming and quirky and prides itself on its wide range of beers. IMG_1114

My housemate works there and told me about a new burger on the menu which Adam and I were eager to tackle.

IMG_1142

On the day of my last exam, I wanted a treat and ‘The Gang’ seemed like a perfect choice. It basically doubles up on everything their regular burger offers; two burgers plus double the amount of onion rings and fries.

IMG_1116 IMG_1141 IMG_1117 IMG_1118 IMG_1119

The main event..

IMG_1120

Cheddar and Stilton cheese ooze over the epically stacked, juicy burgers. They’ve even thrown in a few slices of bacon for added naughtiness.
IMG_1121 IMG_1122 IMG_1124

The chips are left with the skin on, creating the perfect mix between wedges and fries.

IMG_1125 IMG_1126 IMG_1127

The onion rings, battered in cider and tarragon, were extraordinary. Slighty crunchy yet they just melted in the mouth. If I hadn’t eaten a burger the size of my face, I could have eaten them endlessly.

IMG_1128 IMG_1129

It certainly was a messy job, with grease trickling down your hand continuously, but it was all worth it.

IMG_1130 IMG_1133 IMG_1134 IMG_1135 IMG_1136

They have the grooviest toilets.

IMG_1137

 

My mouth is uncontrollably watering now. At £14, it’s pretty pricey on a student budget, but it is so worth it if you want a treat.
IMG_1138

Leave a Reply

